Newslit Daily
Newslit Daily
📱 My own phone is now spam texting me
0:00
-1:51

📱 My own phone is now spam texting me

Plus: FedEx Says Fred Smith to Step Aside as CEO, and more ...

Today’s pick

My own phone number is now spam texting me. This morning, I received a very blatant spam text offering me “a little gift” for supposedly paying my phone bill. Normally I'd groan, roll my eyes, and quickly delete such a thing, but there was something different about this… (Chris Welch / The Verge)


FedEx Says Fred Smith to Step Aside as CEO, Remain Executive Chairman. FedEx Corp. founder Fred Smith is stepping down as chief executive of the company he started more than 50 years ago with a handful of planes and built into a global delivery network that moves millions of packages a day. Mr. Smith, 77 years old, is… (Paul Ziobro / Wall Street Journal)


Leaked Details of the Lapsus$ Hack Make Okta's Slow Response Look More Bizarre. In the week since the digital extortion group Lapsus$ first revealed that it had breached the identity management platform Okta through one of the company's subprocessors, customers and organizations across the tech industry have been scrambling to… (Lily Hay Newman / WIRED)


Environmental Groups Pressure Bitcoin Community to Lower Energy Use. A consortium of environmental groups launched a campaign on Monday seeking to change bitcoin's code to decrease its energy use, which has grown substantially in the past few years. Bitcoin is popular among some investors, but its energy use has… (Paul Vigna / Wall Street Journal)


A Bookstore Revival Channels Nostalgia for Big Box Chains. Fond feelings for the big chains of the ‘90s help to explain a renaissance for mall bookstores in the U.S. (Alexandra Lange / Bloomberg)


Thanks for reading to the bottom and soaking in our Newslit fuelled highlights for your morning.

I hope you found it interesting and, needless to say, if you have any questions or feedback let me know by hitting reply or on Twitter.

Take care and see you tomorrow!

Jose Montes de Oca

P.S. Was this forwarded to you? Sign up here.

0 Comments
Newslit Daily
Newslit Daily
Join the Newslit Team every weekday morning as they guide you through some of the most fascinating stories in tech and business to supercharge your mornings.